top of page

Filming the Videos

Goal: To Film the Five One Day Videos.

Action Steps:

  1. Meet with Videographer to talk about expectations and desired outcome.

  2. Create Storyboards for Videographer and Editor to use to piece together the desired story.

  3. Meet with teachers and librarian, whose classes/facility will be involved in the filming to discuss their roles and responsibilities and collect photograph consent forms.

  4. Meet with students who will be involved in the filming to discuss procedures and expectations and collect photograph consent forms.

  5. Make plan with office staff to turn off bells and any announcements during filming.

  6. Notify all staff on campus of the location, dates and times of filming.

  7. Ask team closest to filming to keep their students quiet in the halls.

  8. Choose wardrobe for filming and make arrangements for hair and make-up.

Reflection:

The actual filming of these videos brought with it a level of stress that I had not anticipated nor had I ever experienced in my life. The week we actually filmed and the week before getting ready required me to use all of the "Five practices of Exemplary Leadership". I modeled the way by meeting with everyone involved to make sure they understood what I was expecting from them and so they would know that I would follow through on my part of the project as well. I inspired a shared vision by sharing with the staff what my dreams for this project were and how I hoped they could help our school in the future. I challenged the process by creating these videos that if they turn out the way I envision them will truly be an innovation for how Focused Cornell notes are taught in our district. I enabled others to act by further developing a cooperative relationship with the teachers that participated in this project. And when it was all said and done I made sure to encourage the heart by thanking everyone for their hard work and for being a part of the project.

For me the easy part was the organization of it all. I would say that organizing and making sure all of the details aren't overlooked is one of my strongest qualities. I am able to look at a situation and anticipate what could possibly go wrong before it ever happens and think of possible solutions before a solution is ever needed. Another part that went well overall is that the staff at my school were all very excited about the project and everyone was willing to help out in any way they could. Their belief in me and the project really helped to boost my confidence that everything would turn out right.

The part that ended up being so stressful was the being filmed part. I have given these lessons countless times and although when it was filmed it was in an authentic situation, with real students that I was delivering the lesson to for the first time and not scripted at all, just having those camera lights on me, knowing I only had ONE TIME to get it right, brought with it such a great amount of stress that it was unreal. Although I hope it doesn't show up so much on tape I WAS SO NERVOUS. I felt like I couldn't think of the words I have used hundreds of times. I felt like I was stumbling over every word and I was SO HOT! It didn't help that it was the middle of summer, the air in the library of course wasn't working well (a common CFIS problem), I had on way more make-up than I usually wear for the filming and there were camera lights everywhere.

The good news for me is that we made it through. I was a little stiff on days one and two but by day three I guess I got my camera legs good and secured and it all started to flow. I was especially proud at how well the kids did. Except for one case of a boy making faces in a remote camera, they were all perfect gems and it made me job of teaching them, even under the lights and cameras that much easier.

Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page