top of page

The Final Cut!

Goal: To make the final cuts and changes to each of the five days of videos.

Action Steps:

  1. View each video.

  2. Based on overall vision of project, communicate desired cuts and changes to videographer.

  3. Make sure directions to viewing classroom teachers and students are very evident.

  4. Apply for CNSEF Grant to buy flashdrives to store videos for each school.

Reflection:

Once I got my hands on the preliminary videos I was able to view each one and make final cuts. It was probably the most fun part of this capstone project. I loved going through the videos and giving the videographer parts to cut or even changing the music at this section or the pictures at that section. I was able to choose what words and pictures were added to the intro and outro and it was a really exciting experience. Although I found lots of silly blunders of my own doing, from nerves, I was confident that these were more noticeable to me than they would be to the general viewer. I was thrilled with the videos even before we made the final cuts and adjustments, and adding the final touches really felt exciting. I was sure to tell the videographer what an amazing job he had done with the preliminary editing. In putting together these videos, I really felt that I am challenging the process. I have really never seen interactive videos like these that are intended to actually encourage student participation instead of just passively watching the videos. The editing allowed me to make sure that viewing teachers and students really understood when and where they were expected to be involved.

I also decided to apply for the Corona-Norco Schools Educational Foundation Grant. I want to buy enough 16 gig flash drives that every school in the district would have access to the videos by using the flash drives and not be dependent on the internet. I think this is important to make sure teachers can access the videos even if the internet is down.

Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page