top of page

Putting it all Together

Goal: To finalize the Five Days to Focused Cornell Notes Project.

Action Steps:

  1. Input and analyze data from pilot schools.

  2. Continue trying to get approval from AVID to host the videos on their website.

  3. Fine-tune my ePortfolio.

  4. Fine-tune my capstone presentation PowerPoint.

Reflection:

This has really been an amazing experience. I feel I have really grown in so many areas. From the small things like being able to use Google Drive like a whiz to the greater gains of being able to ask for help and trusting that others will get the job done. The truly wonderful thing is that the work I have done for this project and for TLCA has transferred to all areas of my teaching career. My principal has asked me to take on a TSA like position at our school, I am being groomed for a district TSA position and I was offered a position as an AVID staff developer. I truly believe it is because of this program that all of these things have come my way. Watch out for my next video series. Three days to Focused Cornell Note Refinement!

This month I was finally able to gather most of the pilot data and analyze it. I am still waiting on a few pieces but for the most part everything is looking really great. I feel I have met or exceeded my goals in all areas except the 10% gain in test scores. However I do not feel that the method I was using to gather that data was very reliable. I am thinking of asking to see final grades from the report cards before the training and the report cards after the training. I think this will give me a more accurate look at how student achievement was affected by these training videos.

I have kept so on top of everything but in the end I was behind on getting everything exactly the way I wanted it. Unfortunately this program hasn't exactly helped with my perfectionism, if anything I strive for excellence even more now. But even though it is hard work I am always so impressed with my results. I hope my hard word and attention to detail shine through with this project.

Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page