top of page

The Waiting Game

Goal: To acquire the rough cut videos.

Action Steps:

  1. Allow the videographer full control of how to edit the videos based on my initial story boards.

  2. Check in with videographer regarding progress and estimated completion date.

Reflection:

In August, I simply waited for the preliminary videos to be compiled and edited by the videographer. There wasn't much for me to do. The videographer had promised that the videos would be able to be viewed thirty days after the time of filming, but with other projects that the district asked him to do and with a scheduled vacation and conference that he attended they were given to me to view just past the promised due date. Although I was merely waiting for the videos to be edited, I still feel that I had to utilize several of the leadership behaviors. Most significantly I had to give the videographer a great deal of freedom and choice in deciding how to do his work which is part of enabling other to act. I had tremendous faith in my videographer. He had been strongly recommended by several people in the district and I had seen his work and was quite impressed. I knew that he would do a great job. I therefore let him do his job and just checked in from time to time to see how the progress was going.

Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page