top of page

Managing the Mini-Setbacks

Goal: To put the finishing touches on this project.

Action Steps:

  1. Collect Data from pilot schools.

  2. Continue trying to get approval from AVID to host the videos on their website.

  3. Send interest survey to middle school principals.

  4. Fine-tune my ePortfolio.

  5. Fine-tune my capstone presentation PowerPoint.

Reflection:

Disaster strikes! At the TLCA meeting in April I was talking with one of the teachers that was conducting the pilot and I realized that the pre-survey had not been given at his school. His school was piloting the videos with their entire intermediate school and this was a real blow. However after talking with my advisor we decided that we would cut the losses and salvage the pilot by conducting several teacher/student oral interviews to help gather qualitative data. And I think it really added a human element to the data. I was seeing through the numbers how much the videos were helping students improve their note-taking skills but when I sat down with a young lady and asked if the videos changed how she felt about yourself as a student and she answered, "Yes, I feel like I am becoming a better student," I was really excited. Numbers can not show that!

I still have not heard back from AVID but I was invited to become an AVID professional developer for their summer institutes and was required to attend a two day training. As part of the training you have the opportunity to socialize with a lot of the AVID center staff so I made it a priority to find someone that could help me get the videos uploaded. I think it is a lot easier to put off someone you are emailing or talking to on the phone but when you meet the person face to face, that is harder to do. Luckily I was able to connect with Ben Solomon, from the curriculum department, who was actually forwarded the videos and he is going to be taking a look at them. Fingers crossed.

Because of the set-backs there is not much I can add to the project at this time. I still need to get data results so that I will have something to report for my evidence of success. However, on a positive note the Google Drive Principal Survey went really. Four intermediate schools want to use the videos school wide and two other schools will be using them as well.

Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page