top of page

Getting Ready for the Pilot Process

Goal: To prepare the materials for the Pilot process.

Action Steps:

  1. Create Pre- and Post- Student Surveys

  2. Create Pre- and Post- Teacher Surveys

  3. Create Pre- and Post- Student Note-Taking Tests

  4. Create check list for expectations and requirements of Piloting Teacher

  5. Adjust Focused Cornell Notes Checklist to be used to grade the Pre- and Post- Tests

Reflection:

When the videos were done, I immediately set in to action sharing them with my site team and administration. I also began the process of creating the materials for the pilot schools. I met with my TLCA coach to show her the materials I had developed so far and to ask for her guidance in any additions that she thought I should make. She suggested that along with the pre- and post- tests I should also ask the piloting teachers for evidence of student grades on academic tests that they had taken before learning about and using Focused Cornell Notes and after. She also recommended that I have more that just the piloting teacher grade each test. She felt that this would allow for less subjectivity. Another suggestion she had was to actually give the piloting teacher an example packet of what each student participating in the pilot would have completed by the end of the pilot. This month I feel that I used the leadership skill of challenging the process, especially the practice of making certain that I had set achievable goals, made concrete plans, and established measurable milestones for this capstone project.

I found out this month that I did get the grant to buy the flash drives. This is very exciting! I am going to be able to buy customizable flash drives to give to each of the school sites in CNUSD.

Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page