top of page

The Waiting Game, Part two

Goal: To acquire the final videos.

Action Steps:

  1. Allow the videographer full control of how to edit the videos based on my desired cuts and changes.

  2. Check in with videographer regarding progress and estimated completion date.

Reflection:

Once I gave the videographer the notes on the final cuts and changes, I was again just waiting for him to do his job. As always I had complete faith that he would do an amazing job so I just put my faith in him and waited. This time the "waiting" part of the project could not have come at a better time for me personally. October was a crazy month for me both personally and professionally. In October, all of my AVID students are on track so I always schedule a lot of activities. We had a field trip to the UCLA football game, a tour of Cal Poly Pomona, a parent night devoted to Focused Cornell Notes, and an AVID site team meeting with AVID parents, students, teachers and tutors. It was a busy month which was compounded by the fact that I broke my ankle at the end of September. Having a broken ankle would have been difficult on a normal month but having a broken ankle during one of my busiest months of the year was nearly impossible. This month helped me grow so much in the area of enabling others to act because I just couldn't do it all myself. I needed help. I had to give others the freedom to do their jobs and trust they would get done without me because just couldn't do it. To make matters even more complicated I also got married at the end of October and found out that I had developed a blood clot in the injured leg, which made the healing that much slower. This month was perhaps one of the most difficult in my teaching career but I really felt it help me grow so much because I had to let go of the control. I had to ask for help instead of trying to do everything myself.

Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page